This site requires Javascript.

Please enable Javascript before proceeding:


  1. In the FireFox address bar, type about:config.
  2. Look for the javascript.enabled setting.
  3. Set it to true by right-clicking and pressing toggle.

Internet Explorer

  1. On the Tools menu, click Internet Options, then click the Security tab.
  2. Click the Internet Zone.
  3. If you do not have to customize your Internet security settings, click Default Level. Then do step 4.
  4. If you have to customize your Internet security settings, follow these steps:
    a. Click Custom Level.
    b. In the Security Settings - Internet Zone dialog box, click Enable for Active Scripting in the Scripting section.
  5. Click the Back button to return to the previous page, and then click the Refresh button to run scripts.


  1. In the Chrome address bar, type chrome://settings/content/javascript.
  2. Adjust the toggle so that javascript is allowed.
  3. Close the Settings tab and Refresh the page.


Planning Committee

Zahinoor Ismail, MD - Conference Chair
Professor of Psychiatry, Neurology, and Epidemiology
Hotchkiss Brain Institute and O’Brien Institute for Public Health, University of Calgary

William Betzner
Master Student (Neuroscience), University of Calgary

Professor of Medicine (Neurology), Department of Medicine, Sunnybrook HSC and University of Toronto; Hurvitz Brain Sciences Research Program Director, Sunnybrook Research Institute; Executive Director, Toronto Dementia Research Alliance, University of Toronto; Site Leader, Heart and Stroke Foundation Canadian Partnership for Stroke Recovery

Howard Chertkow MD, FRCP, FCAHS
Senior Scientist and Chair in Cognitive Neurology and Innovation, Baycrest and Rotman Research Institute
Director, Kimel Centre for Brain Health and Wellness and Clinical Trials Unit, Baycrest
Scientific Director, Canadian Consortium on Neurodegeneration in Aging
Adjunct Professor, Dept. of Neurology and Neurosurgery, McGill University
Professor, Dept. of Medicine (Neurology), University of Toronto

Sid Feldman MD, CCFP, FCFP
Physician, North York Family Health Team; Physician and Medical Director, Jewish Home for the Aged, Baycrest; Chief, Department of Family and Community Medicine, Baycrest; Associate Professor, Department of Family and Community Medicine, University of Toronto

Chris Frank MD, CCFP, FCFP
Professor, Department of Medicine, Queen's University; Program Director, Enhanced Skills Care of the Elderly Program, Queen's University; Clinical Lead, Specialized Geriatrics, Providence Care

Serge Gauthier CM, CQ, MD, FRCPC
Director, AD & Related Disorders Unit, McGill Center for Studies in Aging
Professor, Departments of Neurology & Neurosurgery, Psychiatry, Medicine, McGill University

Zahra Goodarzi, MD
Assistant Professor, Division of Geriatrics, Department of Medicine; Deputy Division Head, Geriatric Medicine; Program Director for Leaders in Medicine, Cumming School of Medicine Hotchkiss Brain Institute, O'Brien Institute of Public Health, University of Calgary

Deborah Hyman
Vice President Care Operations, The Manor Village Life Centers; Wellness Development Manager, The Manor Village Life Centers; Director, Primary Care Recruitment Ltd; Manager, Alberta Health Services

Ikrame Housni
Masters Student, Université de Montréal

Mary Pat McAndrew PhD, CPsych
Senior Scientist and Director of Neuropsychology Clinic, Krembil Brain Institute, University Health Network
Professor of Psychology, University of Toronto

Paige Moorhouse MD, MPH, FRCPC
Associate Professor, Geriatric Medicine
Dalhousie University

Gary Naglie MD, FRCPC, FGSA
Hunt Family Chair in Geriatric Medicine
Professor, Department of Medicine and Institute of Health Policy, Management & Evaluation, University of Toronto
VP, Medical Services & Chief of Staff, Chief, Department of Medicine, Baycrest Health Sciences

Jacqueline Pettersen, MD, MSc, FRCPC (Neurology)
Associate Professor and Cognitive Neurologist,
Division of Neurology, Department of Medicine, University of British Columbia & Affiliate Associate Professor, Division of Medical Sciences, University of Northern British Columbia Robin Hsiung (Neurology, UBC)

Saskia Sivananthan PhD
Chief Research and KTE Officer, Alzheimer Society of Canada

Eric Edward Smith MD, MPH, FRCPC, FAHA
Professor of Neurology
Katthy Taylor Chair in Vascular Dementia Hotchkiss Brain Institute, University of Calgary

Ateyeh Soroush
Doctorate Student and Research Assistant, University of Calgary


11th CCD Conference
November 2-4, 2023
Times in the program are in Eastern Standard Time

Event Location

Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Grand Ballroom, Lower Concourse Level
123 Queen Street West, Toronto
Ontario M5H 2M9
(416) 361-1000
Click here to visit website

Key Dates

Travel Grant Applications
Friday September 22

Early Bird Registration
Thursday September 21

Hotel Booking Cut-Off
Thursday October 12

Online Registration Closes
Monday October 30 @ 9AM EST


UHN Conference Services

Social Media


Click here to subscribe to our communications list.