This site requires Javascript.

Please enable Javascript before proceeding:

Firefox

  1. In the FireFox address bar, type about:config.
  2. Look for the javascript.enabled setting.
  3. Set it to true by right-clicking and pressing toggle.

Internet Explorer

  1. On the Tools menu, click Internet Options, then click the Security tab.
  2. Click the Internet Zone.
  3. If you do not have to customize your Internet security settings, click Default Level. Then do step 4.
  4. If you have to customize your Internet security settings, follow these steps:
    a. Click Custom Level.
    b. In the Security Settings - Internet Zone dialog box, click Enable for Active Scripting in the Scripting section.
  5. Click the Back button to return to the previous page, and then click the Refresh button to run scripts.

Chrome

  1. In the Chrome address bar, type chrome://settings/content/javascript.
  2. Adjust the toggle so that javascript is allowed.
  3. Close the Settings tab and Refresh the page.

 

PROGRAM AGENDA

Downloadable Detailed Program

Click on time zone in the list below each date for a time zone specific program for Day 1 and Day 2.

DAY 1 PROGRAM AGENDA

THURSDAY OCTOBER 14, 2021: FICARE: WHAT IS HAPPENING IN THE WORLD?

PT – PACIFIC TIME (CALIFORNIA, USA) 08:00 – 12:05
ET – EASTERN TIME (NEW YORK, USA) 11:00 – 15:05
BST – BRITISH SUMMER TIME (LONDON, UK) 16:00 – 20:05
CEST ‐ CENTRAL EUROPEAN SUMMER TIME (BRUSSELS, BELGIUM) 17:00 – 21:05

OPENING
08:00 PT, 11:00 ET, 16:00 BST, 17:00 CEST
10 minutes Opening Remarks: Moving Forward with FICare
Dr. Karel O’Brien
A: TRANSITIONS TO HOME
08:10 PT, 11:10 ET, 16:10 BST, 17:10 CEST

SESSION MODERATOR: DR. JENNIFER YOUNG
15 minutes FICare: Positive Impact on Toddler Behaviour
Presenter: Dr. Paige Church
15 minutes Sustainable Transition to Family Integrated Care by De-Implementing Staff's Professional Centred Care Practices
Presenter: Dr. Anna Axelin
15 minutes The Importance of FICare in Supporting Discharge Planning and the Transition to Home
Presenter: Joanna Bennet
15 minutes Panel Discussion
Moderator: Dr. Jennifer Young
BREAK
09:10 PT, 12:10 ET, 17:10 BST, 18:10 CEST
B: QUICK HITS
09:20 PT, 12:20 ET, 17:20 BST, 18:20 CEST
SESSION MODERATOR: DR. NEIL PATEL
Five 3‐minute presentations taken from the Call for Abstracts each followed by 2 minutes for discussion with the audience

Professional Identity and Parental Autonomy in an Integrated Maternity and Neonatal Care Setting. This 'Integrated Care.
Presenter: Mirielle A. Stelwagen

Scaling Up and Adapting the Family Integrated Care Model Beyond the Current State of the Art
Presenter: Adeline Pellicer

Heart to HEARTT: Supporting Nurses to Partner with Patients Caring for Critically Ill Infants
Presenter: Yasmin Lalani

Implementing Family Integrated Care (FICare) on the Evelina Neonatal Unit Using a Systems Leadership Approach and Coproduction Methodology
Presenter: Nicola Crowley

Sibling Care and Wellbeing; Development of a Care Package to Improve Sibling Inclusion in the Family Neonatal Journey
Presenter: Dr. Hannah L. Chamberlain
C: TECHNOLOGY AND INNOVATIONS TO SUPPORT FICARE
09:45 PT, 12:45 ET, 17:45 BST, 18:45 CEST

SESSION MODERATOR: DR. LIZ MCKECHNIE
10 minutes Using Technology to Support Parent Engagement in Care
Presenter: Dr. Marsha Campbell‐Yeo
10 minutes
The Use of Technology to Support Families During COVID
Presenters: Dr. Neil Patel and Parent (TBD)
10 minutes
Provider-Friendly E‐Learning for Healthcare Quality Improvement Initiatives
Presenter: Dr. Karen Benzies
10 minutes
Using Technology to Support Parent Learning Needs and Skills Acquisition
Presenter: Dr. Linda Franck
10 minutes
Panel Discussion
Moderator: Dr. Liz McKechnie
BREAK
10:35 PT, 13:35 ET, 18:35 BST, 19:35 CEST
D: ADDRESSING SPECIAL POPULATIONS: LOW RESOURCE SETTINGS, DISADVANTAGED PARENTS SESSION
10:45 PT, 13:45 ET, 18:45 BST, 19:45, CEST

MODERATOR: DR. LINDA FRANCK
10 minutes Opportunities and Challenges in Family Integrated Care in Resource-Limited Settings
Presenters: Dr. Jesse Duby, Dr. Abner Tagoola
10 minutes
FICare Bridging the Cultural Divide in a Regional Hospital in Australia
Presenter: Dr. Mantho Kefentse Kgosiemang
10 minutes
Experiences of Fathers in Alberta Family Integrated Care
Presenter: Dr. Amy Shafey
10 minutes
Bringing Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI) Into FICare in the Neonatal Intensive Care Unit
Presenter: Ada Robinson
10 minutes
Panel Discussion
Moderator: Dr. Linda Franck
E: PARENT PANEL
11:35 PT, 14:35 ET, 19:35 BST, 20:35 CEST
20 minutesParents Integrated in the NICU Both InHospital and Following Discharge
Moderator: Fabiana Bacchini
CLOSING
11:55 PT, 14:55 ET, 19:55 BST, 20:55 CEST
10 minutes Closing Remarks
Dr. Shoo Lee

DAY 2 PROGRAM AGENDA

FRIDAY OCTOBER 15, 2021: SETTING THE STAGE, SUSTAINING AND PROMOTING FICARE RESEARCH

THURSDAY EVENING:
PT – PACIFIC TIME (CALIFORNIA, USA) 18:00 – 21:55
ET – EASTERN TIME (NEW YORK, USA) 21:00 – 01:55

FRIDAY:
AWST – AUSTRALIAN WESTERN STANDARD TIME (PERTH, AUSTRALIA) 09:00 – 12:55
CST – CHINA STANDARD TIME (SHENZHEN, CHINA) 09:00 – 12:55
AEST – AUSTRALIAN EASTERN STANDARD TIME (BRISBANE, AUSTRALIA) 11:00 – 14:55
IST – INDIA STANDARD TIME (NEW DELHI, INDIA) 06:30 – 10:25

OPENING
Thursday 18:00 PT, 21:00 ET, Friday 09:00 AWST, 09:00 CST, 11:00 AEST, 06:30 IST
10 minutes Welcome and Moving Forward with FICare
Dr. Karel O’Brien
A: SUSTAINABLE IMPLEMENTATIONT
Thursday 18:10 PT, 21:10 ET, Friday 09:10 AWST, 09:10 CST, 11:10 AEST, 06:40 IST
SESSION MODERATOR: DR. KEI LUI
15 minutes Implementing & Sustaining Practice Change Following Research Outcomes
Presenter: Dr. Melanie Barwick
15 minutes
How To Make Your Research Matter in Complex Healthcare Systems: Sustaining the Long-Term Impact of Alberta Family Integrated Care in Neonatal Intensive Care Units
Presenter: Dr. Karen Benzies
15 minutes
Implementing FICare in China: Challenges and Opportunities
Presenters: Dr. Qjanshen Zhang, Xue Yin
15 minutes
Panel Discussion
Moderator: Dr. Kei Lui
BREAK
Thursday 19:10 PT, 22:10 ET, Friday 10:10 AWST, 10:10 CST, 12:10 AEST, 07:40 IST
B: QUICK HITS
Thursday 19:20 PT, 22:20 ET, Friday 10:20 AWST, 10:20 CST, 12:20 AEST, 07:50 IST
SESSION MODERATOR: LINDA FRANCK
Five 3‐minute presentations taken from the Call for Abstracts

BOOST: Building Opportunities for Optimal and Smooth Transitions
Presenter: Dr. Paige Church

A Study to Assess the Effect of Nurture on Neurodevelopmental Outcomes of Preterm Neonates Admitted in a Tertiary Care Hospital in South India
Presenter: Monica Rita Hendricks

Evaluating Family & Staff Experiences with Virtual Rounding and Visitation in a Tertiary Neonatal Intensive Care Unit During the COVID-19 Pandemic
Presenter: Dr. Ashley Blagdon

Comparison of Family Centered Care (FCC) with Family Integrated Care and Mobile Technology (mFICARE) on Preterm Infant Outcomes
Presenter: Linda Franck

The COCOON Project: Developing and Implementating a Family-Centred Care Program to Support Parental Engagement and Improve NICU Experience
Presenter: Marley Stewart
C: ESTABLISHING FICARE STANDARDS
Thursday 19:35 PT, 22:35 ET, Friday 10:35 AWST, 10:35 CST, 12:35 AEST, 08:05 IST
SESSION MODERATOR: DR. LINDA FRANCK
10 minutes
Building Back: Supporting Parental Presence and Involvement During and After SARS-CoV-2 Pandemic
Presenter: Dr. Aniko Deieri
10 minutes Establishing FICare Standards in the UK (BAPM)
Presenter: Dr. Judith Simpson
10 minutes
Measuring FICare Outcomes: Proposal for International Dataset
Presenter: Dr. Nicole Van Veenendaal
10 minutes
Measuring Parent Engagement In Care
Presenter: Chandra Waddington
10 minutes
Kangaroo Mother Care - Survival and Beyond
Presenter: Dr. Suman Rao
BREAK
Thursday 20:25 PT, 23:25 ET, Friday 11:25 AWST, 11:25 CST, 13:25 AEST, 08:55 IST
D: PARENT PANEL
Thursday 20:45 PT, 23:45 ET, Friday 11:45 AWST, 11:45 CST, 13:45 AEST, 09:15 IST
30 minutes What are the Important FICare Research Questions for Parents?
Moderator: Fabiana Bacchini
E: RESEARCH STUDY PROPOSAL
Thursday 21:15 PT, Friday 00:15 ET, 12:15 AWST, 12:15 CST, 14:15 AEST, 09:45 IST
SESSION MODERATOR: DR. KAREL O'BRIEN
30 minutes The Presence Study
Presenters: Dr. Marsha Campbell-Yeo & Fabiana Bacchini
CLOSING
Thursday 21:45 PT Friday 01:45 ET, 12:45 AWST, 12:45 CST, 14:45 AEST, 10:15 IST
10 minutes Closing Remarks
Dr. Shoo Lee

Event Dates

Thursday October 14 & Friday October 15, 2021

Event Times:

Day 1:

PT
California, USA 8:00 – 12:00

ET
New York, USA 11:00 – 15:00

BST
London, UK 16:00 – 20:00

CEST
Brussels, BELGIUM 17:00 – 21:00

*Note that Day 2 starts on Thursday evening for PT and ET time zones (see below)

Day 2:

PT
California, USA 18:00 – 22:00 (Thursday evening)

ET
New York, USA 21:00 – 01:00 (Thursday evening)

AWST
Perth, AUS 09:00 – 13:00

CST
Shenzhen, CHINA 09:00 – 13:00

AEST
Sydney, AUS 12:00 – 16:00

IST
New Delhi, INDIA 06:30 – 10:30

Event Location:

Zoom Webinar
Information to join event will be sent by email prior to the event date

Information & Assistance:

Conference Services
conferences@uhn.ca

FICare Website
http://familyintegratedcare.com